Name:


Email:


Phone Number:


Issue Type:


Using the Trash to Restore Files and Folders

·

Get Training

Box features a Trash, that allows you to recover files and folders that have been deleted. By default, all deleted items will be moved the the Trash location of your account and will be purged after 30 days. This purge period can be customized by administrators on Business and Enterprise accounts.

 

Storage Allocation

Deleted items which have been moved to the Trash will still count against your total storage allocation. When items are deleted from a collaboration folder, both the owner and the user who deleted the item will be able to recover the items from the Trash. The item’s size will only be counted against the owner’s storage quota.

 

Accessing The Trash

In the header, click on your name, and a menu will pop up. From that menu, click on Trash.

 

Recovering Items

Box allows you to sort and filter items within the trash folder. You can filter by "Items I deleted" and "Items I own".

 

Tip: Filtering by "Items I Own" is helpful when trying to track down content that may have been deleted by a collaborator in the folder. 

The Trash folder allows you to recover or empty the entire Trash folder, or specify just a few items as needed. To recover the entire folder, select Restore All from the top of the page. Recovered files and folders will be restored to the location from which they were deleted.

To recover specific items from the trash, simply select the check box to the right of one or more items you want to recover and click the Restore icon.

The following details are restored along with the file:

  • Description
  • Tags
  • Comments
  • Tasks
  • Share state (whether the shared link is enabled or disabled)
  • Collaborators

The following details are not restored:

  • Expiration setting on shared links
  • Expiration settings for deletion

 

Admin Settings

Admin-set expiration dates will be removed when the file is deleted, but when the file is recovered the Admin expiration dates will be reset and reapplied to the files as if they were a new upload.

Business and Enterprise Administrators have the added options of disabling the Trash feature and customizing the purge duration. These options can be accessed through the Admin Console on the Admin Settings page. Select the Content and Collaboration tab and look in the Trash section.

 

Was this article helpful?
28 out of 51 found this helpful