Box features a Trash, that allows you to recover files and folders that have been deleted. By default, all deleted items will be moved the the Trash location of your account and will be purged after 30 days. This purge period can be customized by administrators on Business and Enterprise accounts.
Deleted items which have been moved to the Trash will still count against your total storage allocation. When items are deleted from a collaboration folder, both the owner and the user who deleted the item will be able to recover the items from the Trash. The item’s size will only be counted against the owner’s storage quota.
Accessing The Trash
To access the Trash, choose ‘Trash’ from the right sidebar on the “All Files and Folders Page” in the section marked “Resources.”
On the Trash page you have the option to recover or empty the entire Trash folder, or specific items as needed. To empty or recover the entire folder, simply select “Delete All” or “Restore All” from the top of the page. Recovered files and folders will be restored to the location they were deleted from.
To recover specific items from the trash, simply select the check box to the right of one or more items you want to recover and select the ‘Restore’ icon from the above the files.
The following will be restored along with the file:
- Share state (whether the shared link is enabled or disabled)
The following will not be restored when recovering
- Expiration setting on shared links
- Expiration settings for deletion
Admin-set expiration dates will be removed when the file is deleted, but when the file is recovered the Admin expiration dates will be reset and reapplied to the files as if they were a new upload.
Business and Enterprise Administrators have the added options of disabling the Trash feature and customizing the purge duration. These options can be accessed through the "Admin Console" on the "Admin Settings" page. Select the "Content and Collaboration" tab and look in the "Trash" section.