Account Administrators and co-Admins have the ability to set shared link preferences for all content owned by their managed users. If an option is disabled at the Administrator level, it will be shown as ‘disabled’ for all managed users, and for Collaborators in folders owned by managed users. Change the settings at the Admin level only if you want to restrict sharing access for every file and folder in your account.
By default, it is possible for every file and folder in Box to have a shared link, but the link must first be enabled by a folder Owner, Co-owner or Editor. If only some of your data requires restrictions, you can restrict shared link access at the user, folder or item level by clicking on the access level or the gear icon to the left.
To access shared link settings from an Admin or co-Admin account, navigate to the ‘Content & Sharing’ section of your Business or Enterprise Settings as seen below:
From the ‘Content & Sharing’ settings page, you can control what access options are available for your content, what the default access for newly created shared links will be, and what permissions link viewers (who are not invited Collaborators) will have for the content they access.
Enable external links to: In this menu, you can determine what types of content should be accessible to non-Collaborators. Collaborators have to be explicitly invited into the folder, and already have access to the content, whether or not a shared link has been enabled.
Folders and Files: (default) All content in your account will follow the shared link settings that follow this option.
Folders only: Folders in your account will follow the shared link settings that follow. Shared links for files can be enabled, but will only be accessible by invited Collaborators in the folder.
Files only: Files in your account will follow the shared link settings that follow. Shared links for folders can be enabled, but will only be accessible by invited Collaborators in the folder.
Nothing, restrict sharing: Enabled shared links for files and folders in your account will only be accessible by invited Collaborators in the folder.
With access options: Here you can set what access options are available for the content types selected above. By default, all options are enabled, meaning that users with appropriate permissions can choose, per item, what access permission to grant their content.
Open: Anyone with the link can access. No log in required. Note: Users can still set a password or expiration date for these links.
@Company: Users with a Box account and a validated email address matching your domain will be able to access content via the shared link. When accessing the link, users will be asked to log in to Box to verify their identity. Collaborators can also access content if @Company is selected.
Collaborators Only: Only users who have been invited to the folder can access the content in the folder. Note: Collaborators already have access to their content, but can easily direct one another to a specific file or folder using the shared link.
Let Link Viewers: This setting will set whether or not you allow content viewed through shared links to be downloadable.
Preview and download: Allows those viewing the link to be able to download the files and folders. Note: Managed users can toggle the download setting at the folder and file level with this setting on
Preview only: Link viewers can only preview the item. Download is disabled and managed users will not be able toggle this setting at the folder and file level