What Are the Different Access Levels for Collaborators?

·

Get Training

When inviting a user as a collaborator within a folder, you will have the ability to set the level of access that user has to your content. Refer to the following chart to review the different permissions that accompany each access level (a more detailed chart here): 

Available to ALL Accounts

Editor: An Editor has full read/write access to a folder. Once invited to a folder, they will be able to view, download, upload, edit, delete, copy, move, rename, generate and edit shared links, make comments, assign tasks, create tags, and invite/remove collaborators. They will not be able to delete or move root level folders..

Viewer: A Viewer has full read access to a folder. Once invited to a folder, they will be able to preview, download, make comments, and generate shared links.  They will not be able to add tags, invite new collaborators, edit shared links, upload, edit or delete items in the folder.

 

Available to Business and Enterprise Accounts

Note: These permission levels must be enabled by the account admin in the “User Collaboration Settings” in the Admin Console.

Previewer: A Previewer has limited read access. They will only be able to preview the items in the folder using the integrated content viewer. They will not be able to share, upload, edit, or delete any content.

Uploader: An Uploader has limited write access. They will only be able to upload and see the names of the items in a folder. They will not able to download or view any content.

Viewer Uploader: This access level is a combination of Viewer and Uploader. A Viewer Uploader has full read access to a folder and limited write access. They are able to preview, download, add comments, generate shared links, and upload content to the folder. They will not be able to add tags, invite new collaborators, or delete items in the folder. To update a file, users with this permission had to download a file, edit it locally, and re-upload (using the same file name). Effective May 2014, these users can use Box Edit to perform the same action (download, edit, and re-upload) seamlessly.

Note: Viewer Uploaders cannot delete files. They can only edit files using Box Edit or continue to use the manual process of download, edit, and re-upload.

Previewer Uploader: This access level is a combination of Previewer and Uploader. A Previewer Uploader has limited read and write access to a folder. They are able to preview, add comments, add tasks, and upload content to the folder. They will not be able to add tags, generate shared links, invite new collaborators, edit or delete items in the folder.

Co-Owner: A Co-Owner has all of the functional read/write access that an Editor does. This permission level has the added ability of being able to manage users in the folder as well as change the security settings on a folder. A Co-Owner can add new collaborators, change access levels of existing collaborators, and remove collaborators. However, they will not be able to change the Owner of the folder or transfer ownership to another user.

 

Collaboration Permissions

Refer to the following chart to review the different permissions that accompany each access level: 

 

Was this article helpful?
93 out of 110 found this helpful