Collaborate with Customers and Other Designers

Follow

·

Get Training

1. As content is uploaded to Box, you can comment on information the same way as you did in discussions. Simply type @ and mention a person you are collaborating with. If you are not already collaborating with someone on content or a folder, invite them so you can start sharing information. If you need to call out your edits to a shared folder, @ the original author so they know what you modified.

 

 

2. Do you need someone to review an important file on a deadline? Assign a task to a file in Box. This lets the others on the project know that there is work to do. You can assign tasks to multiple people and integrate tasks with your Google calendar to provide a reminder. 


Figure 1:  You can create tasks for review, approval and updates.

3. Are you unsure about what you need to do meet a deadline? Use the Pending Items Manager in the Box menu to see the tasks assigned to you, as well as tasks you have created that are waiting on other people. You can also track deadlines associated with content.  For example, track which tasks are waiting for customer approval. 


Figure 2: For the current project, the designer has one assigned task.

Manage Document Versions

1. 
Have you ever saved 15 versions of the same file while you worked on revisions? Before Box your versions may have looked like 07022012 Customer Spec (Dan v3 in process).ai. The file name changed each time a designer would ‘Save As’ to try and track changes for shared files. In Box, an integrated version control system tracks changes and updates directly.


Figure 3: Revert to a previous version by selecting the Make Current button.

2. If you make a mistake, don’t worry. You can easily roll back to a previous version of a file. In Box, select a document and click on the Version tab to make the previous version your current one. This is helpful if you made a bad edit and need to revert to a previous copy.

 

3. Lock content to avoid overwriting anything. If you need to work on a file and don’t want anyone own changes while you’re editing, you can lock the file. This prevents anyone else from making modifications while you are editing it. When you have the file open in Box, select File Options and choose Lock File


Figure 4: You can set the duration of a lock.


View and Share Content

1. Present and share content using Box.com or Box Mobile. Box can preview Adobe Illustrator designs, PDFs, videos, graphics, videos, audio and images. Preview content in your browser or on your mobile device – you don’t need the original application.

 

Figure 5: View content in full screen view for best results.

2. Make notes on content. In the Box web interface, take notes in a web document or in a Google Doc to track all of your notes along with other content for projects. You can also create new documents from the Box interface and connect them automatically to your Google Docs account.


Figure 6: Connect your Google Docs account when you set up your Box account.

3. Stop sending giant attachments to share files. Box lets you send links to files and folders using a URL. To grab a shared link, select the Sharing button in Box and copy and paste the link. You can also set passwords and expirations dates or restrict the rights that people have when you send them the link.

 

Figure 7: Link to the content preview screen in Box or directly to the file.

4. Embed files and folders in other sites or content management systems. In Box, select the Embed button and choose the options you want for the shared content. This is a great way to distribute videos, proofs and other large files on websites.


Figure 8: Configure the options before embedding the content.

 

Next: Take Notes On Your iPad With Notability

Previous: Move Existing Project Content To Box

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful