What is a shared link?
Shared link: A unique URL that allows the recipient to access either a specific file or folder. Shared links differ from Collaborators in that they can be accessed by non-Box users. You can learn how to manage shared link access settings by referring to the resources located below the video.
Figure 2. One way to create a shared link is by clicking on the share button next to the file and folder names.
Watch this video for step-by-step instructions to creating and using shared links:
For a more detailed description of shared links, please refer to the resources below:
When should I invite someone in as a collaborator versus send them a shared link?
Collaborator: Invite an individual into a folder as a collaborator if you are actively working with them on a long-term basis. Collaboration provides a two-way relationship; depending on their access level, collaborators can view, edit, upload/download documents, leverage social workflows (comments, tasks, etc.), and receive updates on actions taking place in the folder.
Shared link: Shared links provide a one-way relationship, allowing the recipient to preview or download the document or folder. They can continue to reference that link for the most up-to-date version of the content. Think of a shared link as a secure email attachment replacement.