What features from Sync 3.x have been changed in Sync 4.0?

Follow

·

Get Training

We’ve removed several features from Sync 3.x in an effort to streamline the Sync 4.0 experience for all of our users. We’ve summarized those changes below and included our recommended workarounds in the event that you require the functionality provided by one of these features.

 

Windows XP, and OS X 10.7, 10.6 Support

Sync 3 supported Windows XP, OS X 10.6 and 10.7. These are no longer supported in Box Sync 4.0. For more information, please refer to Which Operating Systems does Box Sync run on?

Move Sync Location

In Sync 3, it was possible to move the Box Sync folder to another location.

In Sync 4, you can only customize the Box Sync location during install. See Can A User Select The Box Sync Folder Location? or Can An Admin Change The Default Folder Location For Box Sync?

Network Drives

In Sync 3, it was possible to move the Box Sync folder to a network location. In Sync 4, NTFS, HFS, and HFS+ file systems are supported on local drives.

Sync Progress Bar

In Sync 3, the status bar progressed to identify that the syncing was complete.

In Sync 4, a Synced status update and the last synced date and time is displayed.

Bandwidth Throttling

In the Windows version of Sync 3, it was possible to adjust how much bandwidth Sync consumed.

We recommend using third-party software to fine-tune the bandwidth used by Box Sync on your computer.

Multiple Accounts

In Sync 3, if you log out, log in as another user, and then switch back to the original user, your existing Box Sync folder would be used. In Sync 4, content is re-downloaded from Box.

Auto-Update Notifications

In Sync 3, users received notifications when a new update was available, and admins could contact their CSM to block this behavior.

In Sync 4, this is replaced by a new silent auto-update technology that does not require administrator access to the machine. Automatic updates cannot be blocked.

Local Trash

In the Windows version of Sync 3, deleted files were moved to a Box Sync trash folder. In Sync 4, deleted files are moved to the trash folder on Box (accessible from the web application or mobile apps). Sync does not retain a local copy.

Was this article helpful?
27 out of 65 found this helpful