How do I share files and folders from Box on my iPhone or iPad?

Follow

·

Get Training

You can easily share files from Box on your iPhone or iPad using a MailMessages (iMessage or text), or a link copied to your clipboard,. Simply navigate to the file or folder you'd like to share and tap the Share (link) icon from the menu on the top right-hand corner of the app and follow the steps below. 

 

 

Using Mail

  1. Tap Send Link via Email.
  2. Set any access limits or restrictions you'd like in the next screen.
  3. Tap Next from the upper-right corner.

The Box app will open a new message in the Mail app, with a pre-populated subject line and a link to the file or folder you'd like to share in the body. You can customize the subject line and the body of the message from here, then send it to the recipients of your choosing.

 

Using Messages

  1. Tap Send Link via Messages.
  2. Set any access limits or restrictions you'd like in the next screen.
  3. Tap Next from the upper-right corner.

The Box app will open a new message in the Messages app. The link will show up in the text field, as a prepopulated message. You can customize the body of the message and choose the recipient from this screen.

 

Using a Link

  1. Tap Copy Link to Clipboard.
  2. Set any access limits or restrictions you'd like in the next screen.
  3. Tap Copy Link in the upper-right corner of the screen.

You'll see a success message informing you that the link has been copied to your clipboard. You can paste the link from your clipboard into any text area you'd like and share it.

 

Access Limits and Restrictions

You can set access limits, restrict actions, and set an expiration date for your shared link from the Box for iPhone and iPad app directly.

Link Access: Secure this link so only a select group of people can access your content or leave it open for public access

  • Anyone with the link: Anyone who has the link can view your content, whether they're logged in or not. We recommend one of the other access levels for files or folders you'd like to keep secure.
  • People in your Company: Allows anyone with a Box account at your company to see your content. Users will need to be logged in to see the file or folder linked and you will usually be able to see which specific users in your company have viewed your files.
  • People in this folder: Access is limited only to users you’ve invited to your file or folder as Collaborators. You can invite or remove Collaborators to expand or limit the list of users who can view your files.

Can Download: If this option is enabled, users accessing your file or folder from the link can also download your content. Turn this off if you'd like to create a view-only link.

Expire On: The link will be deleted on the date you set in this field. Leave this option set to Never if you don't want the link to expire. If you set an expiration date, users will not be able to access your file or folder from the link after that date.

Was this article helpful?
4 out of 7 found this helpful