Why are new subfolders not syncing to my desktop?

Follow

·

Get Training

When you have content that is on Box.com, but not appearing locally this is most often a result of content not being marked fully for Sync on Box.com. When a parent folder is partially synced (displays the Some Items Synced status in the More Options dropdown), new subfolders created within this parent folder will not be marked for Sync automatically. To fully sync a partially synced folder, select Sync all items in this folder.

 

Only when a parent folder is fully synced (displays the Synced status in the More Options dropdown), will all new subfolders sync by default.

 

The following actions cause a fully synced parent folder to become partially synced:

  • Unsyncing a subfolder from the More Options dropdown in the web application.
  • Deleting a subfolder from the local Box Sync folder (see the unsync on delete feature for more information).

Folders most often become Some Items Synced due to Sync 4’s unsync on delete functionality. With Sync 4 when you delete a folder locally, the content is deleted on your local computer but the folder is unmarked for syncing on Box.com. For example:

If you have Folder A marked as Synced with Subfolder X and Subfolder Y inside. All folders are marked for sync and should appear locally. If a collaborator adds Subfolder Z, the Subfolder Z will be marked for Sync because the parent Folder A is marked as Synced. On Box.com:

  • Folder A (Synced)
    • Subfolder X (Synced)
    • Subfolder Y (Synced)
    • Subfolder Z (Synced)

If on your computer, locally in your Box Sync Folder, you delete Subfolder Z. Locally Subfolder Z is deleted, but on Box.com Subfolder Z is unsynced. On Box.com you would have:

  • Folder A (Some Items Synced)
    • Subfolder X (Synced)
    • Subfolder Y (Synced)
    • Subfolder Z (NOT Synced)

In this situation, if a collaborator on Box.com adds a new folder to Folder A (Some Items Synced) the new Subfolder Q will NOT be marked for sync by default. On Box.com I would have:

  • Folder A (Some Items Synced)
    • Subfolder X (Synced)
    • Subfolder Y (Synced)
    • Subfolder Z (NOT Synced)
    • Subfolder Q (NOT Synced)

You can remark Folder A as fully Synced by using the More Options drop down or by right clicking on the folder. 

Was this article helpful?
31 out of 132 found this helpful