Can a User Select the Box Sync Folder Location?

Follow

·

Get Training

Yes, however, this can only be done right after installing sync. When you first log into Box Sync (right after you install Box Sync or when you log in as a different user) you have the option to customize your folder settings from the Box Sync home screen.

If you choose not to customize your folder settings, you can begin syncing directly by clicking Start Syncing.

 

If you decide to change your folder settings, follow this procedure:

  1. Click the Customize Folder Settings link in the Welcome to Box Sync.
    The Box Sync window displays your current Box Sync settings.



  2. Click the Change... button to change/select an alternate folder location. At this point, depending on your administrator's configuration, you may see one of two scenarios
    • If your administrator has already customized the Box Sync folder location, you will not be able to override your administrators changes. At this point, you will see an error message alerting you to this situation.
    • If your administrator has not customized the Box Sync folder location, you can select the new location for the Box Sync folder.
  3. Select the location for the Box Sync folder. For example, if you select c:\myfolder, then your files will sync to c:\myfolder\Box Sync. Be aware of the following nuances:
    • You can change the location for the Box Sync folder.
    • You cannot change the name of the Box Sync folder.
    • You cannot have a child folder called Box Sync in the new folder location.
      Note: The Customize Folder Settings option persists until a Box Sync folder is created in either the default location or a custom location. 
  4. The Box Sync settings window automatically displays the newly-selected folder location for Box Sync. Click Done. The Box Sync settings screen reverts to the Box Sync home screen.
  5. Click Start Syncing to begin syncing your items to the new location.

Note: You can only change your sync folder location right after installing sync. Once you click the Start Sync button, you will not be able to move the sync folder.

Was this article helpful?
27 out of 201 found this helpful