You can customize your enterprise's trash settings to best fit your company's requirements. To do this, navigate to Admin Console > Enterprise Settings > Content & Sharing tab, and scroll to the bottom of the page.
- You can choose to Enable or Disable the trash (the setting is enabled by default). Enabling trash provides a trash folder for each of your Box accountholders. We recommend keeping the default setting of Enable, so people can retrieve items they may have accidentally deleted. If you disable trash, then if someone deletes something that item is deleted permanently from that account.
- You can choose who can permanently delete content in the trash. Choose from:
- Everybody, including Automations and Policies
- Admin Only
- Admin and Co-Admins Only
If you set this restriction, people can still move items to the trash. But only people in the specified roles can permanently remove items.
The ability to choose who can permanently delete content in the trash is only available as part of the Box Governance package.
- You can set the duration that items remain in the trash of your managed users' accounts. After the specified time period passes, the items are permanently deleted. If you modify this setting, the new duration does not apply retroactively to items already in the trash.
The ability to choose to choose the custom option is only available as part of the Box Governance package. The custom option can range from 7 days to 10 years.
When you're done, click Save.