What happens if I disable a shared link?
For security purposes, disabled shared links are deleted and cannot be added back to a file or folder. If the shared link is later re-enabled, a new unique URL is generated to ensure the content is only available to those with access to the new link. The behavior is the same on custom links – once it is disabled that link is deleted and is no longer assigned to that file or folder.
Disabling a shared link frees the link back up to be used by someone else on that account, so there could potentially be another file/folder with the same custom link in the future.
How can I tell for sure that I'm sharing content only with the people I want?
I got this error message: "This shared file or folder link has been removed or is unavailable to you." What do I do?
- Incorrect sharing permissions on the shared file. In other words, whoever created the link did not set the correct access level on the link. If you are not already a collaborator in the folder (or file) the link points to, the link would need to be set to "people in the company" (if that person is also at your company) or "people with the link" (if that person is not part of your company).
- The person who created the shared link has since removed it.
- You are attempting to access the shared file with a personal Box account instead of the account with which the file was shared.
- Verify you are logging into Box with the account to which the file was shared. Typically this will be your company Box account.
- If that doesn't resolve the issue, contact the individual who owns the file. Ask them to either to review and revise the file share permisions or to send you the correct link to the file.
- If that doesn't resolve the issue, contact your organization's IT admin for help locating the file and fixing the permissions.
- If the permissions and location of the file are verified and correct, and you still cannot access it, please contact Box Support for assistance at support.box.com.
What happens if a file is deleted while it has an active shared link, but is later restored?
If you delete an item with a shared link and then restore it from trash, the original link is maintained.
Customized shared links are not maintained.
What happens if someone who shouldn't have access to a file or folder tries to use the shared link?
If you set a shared link to ‘Company’ or ‘Collaborators Only’ and a user that is not one of these access types accesses the link, they will receive an error message saying the item is unavailable.
Shared link expiration dates
Are any approvals required after I set an expiration period?
No. When you save your configuration Box applies the settings system-wide. No further approval or review is required to disable the links.
How can I tell if and when a link is set to expire? Can I change that date?
If a file has a link that is set to expire, it displays with a small red clock icon (). To find the expiration date, do one of the following:
- In your files list, at the end of the row displaying your file, click Share. Box opens a window that contains the file sharing details. Hover your mouse pointer over the red clock icon. A message displays that indicates the link expiration date
- In your files list, click to highlight the row displaying your file. File details display in the righthand pane. Under View Details, Box displays the file link's expiration date.
You can change the expiration date, if your Box Admin has enabled that capability. Use the same procedure to change an expiration date as you did to set it originally.
When you preview a file you can also see if it has a link that is set to expire. In the Details pane, Box displays a yellow banner that indicates the existing shared link is set to expire.
If someone shares a link with me, am I notified when it’s about to expire?
You get notified only if you own the files or folders to which the link goes. You get notified by email.