Just like your computer, Box makes use of a trash, where deleted items are stored for a certain period. From the Trash, you can recover files and folders that have been deleted. By default, items in the Trash will be purged after 30 days. This time period can be modified by administrators of Business and Enterprise accounts.
Accessing the Trash
- Share state (whether the shared link is enabled or disabled)
- Expiration setting on shared links
- Expiration settings for deletion
Note: If the content you deleted is no longer in your Box Trash, please contact Box Product Support and let us know what you are trying to recover. There is a 14-day grace period when content is removed from Trash during which Box Product Support can recover your content. After this, we cannot guarantee that the files or folders will be recoverable.
Permanently Deleting Items in Trash
File owners or file deleters can manually remove items from the Trash by following these steps:
- Go into Trash.
- Find the file you want to delete and click the button with the ellipsis/three dots.
- Click Delete.
- Click Okay when asked "Are you sure you want to permanently delete this item?"
- The item will then be permanently removed from your Trash.