We're excited to announce Relay Point Migration, a new capability now available to Box Automate. Point Migration makes it easy for users to convert their existing Box Relay workflows into Automate workflows without rebuilding them from scratch.
What Is Point Migration?
Point Migration provides a guided, in-app experience that allows workflow owners to migrate individual Relay workflows into Box Automate with just a few clicks. Users can review the migrated workflow, save it as a draft, or activate it directly.
Note: Migrating Relay Workflows to Automate is NOT required at this time. Customers can continue to use their existing Relay workflows and, if anything changes, we will send out the appropriate communication well in advance.
Why Migrate to Box Automate?
Box Automate is the future of workflow automation at Box. Here's why migrating matters:
- Continued Investment. Box will exclusively build new features for Automate, not Relay. Migrating ensures your teams have access to the latest innovations.
- AI-Native Architecture. Automate was built from the ground up to natively incorporate AI agents, making it faster and easier to add intelligence to your workflows.
- Intuitive Builder Experience. Drag-and-drop capabilities and a canvas view make workflows easier to build, understand, and update.
- New Capabilities. Depending on your plan, Automate unlocks conditional/parallel branching, workflow sharing and collaboration, advanced variables, end-user reporting, and AI agent integration. See the capabilities by plan here.
How It Works
- Navigate to the Automate tab in Box
- Locate the Relay workflow you'd like to migrate
- Click the "Migrate" button next to the activated Relay workflow (if available)
- Review the migrated workflow, then save or activate it
- If you save as a draft, this creates the Automate workflow, but does not activate it so you have a chance to review, test, and edit it.
- Note how the original Relay workflow is still active after migration and the new Automate workflow is inactive:
-
If you activate it right away, this automatically creates the new Automate workflow, activates it, AND deactivates the original Relay workflow.
First: You will receive a warning that activating the workflow will deactivate the migrated RElay workflow.
- Next: After clicking "Activate Workflow" you will now see the original Relay workflow in the Inactive state while the new Automate workflow will be active with the same name, just a number appended to it.
What to Expect
- Most workflows will migrate successfully. If an error occurs during migration, your existing Relay workflow will not be affected and will continue to run normally.
- If you activate the Automate workflow upon migration, the original Relay workflow is automatically deactivated to avoid conflicts. You will have the option to revert to the original Relay workflow if needed.
- However, if you save the Automate workflow in draft mode, you will have to deactivate the Relay workflow manually once you're ready to activate the new Automate workflow.
- If a workflow cannot be migrated due to a few limitations, the "Migrate" button will simply not appear next to it. In this case, you can continue using the existing Relay workflow.
- Migration is not time-limited. We will communicate any changes to Relay separately with ample notice.
Important Notes
- Migration is not automated. Each workflow must be manually migrated by the workflow owner via the "Migrate" button.
- Admins cannot migrate on behalf of users from the Admin Console.
- Migration will be available in the End User App only and will not be exposed to Admins in the Admin Console workflow list at GA.
- If your Relay workflow uses a Manual Start, after migration you may need to share the workflow with other users who need to view and trigger them from Files.
Availability
Point Migration is available for Business plans and above.
👉 Join the community for the latest updates: AI Content Workflows User Group