How do I remove downloads from my computer without effecting online shared folders

New post

Comments

1 comment

  • France

    Hi Thomas, 

    Welcome to the Box Community, I'm happy to help!

    You can try logging out of Box Drive as this action will clear all of Box Drive's cache from your machine. Before you logout, please check to see if you have any Problem Items and manually move those items to a location outside of the Box Folders and directories (such as your desktop) to help prevent data loss.

    Logging out completely removes all traces of your Drive usage from your machine and enables you to log in again as a new user. Also, when you log out, your Box Drive session ends and the login screen displays. In addition, logging out of Box Drive deletes all of the downloaded content you had marked for offline availability. This of course clears up hard disk space on your device. It also returns to an online-only state all of the content you have marked for offline availability. You will have to repeat the process of marking folders for offline availability.

    To log out on a Mac:

    1. Navigate to the search menu by going to the menu bar and clicking the Box icon.
        • Alternatively, you can use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl + Option + Cmd + space.
    2. Click the gear icon, and from the list that displays click Log Out.  

    These steps should help empty your Drive cache and restore space back to your local hard drive. To learn more about Box Drive, please take a look at this article: https://support.box.com/hc/en-us/articles/360043697494-Using-Box-Drive-Basics 

    Thanks for reaching out and please let us know if you have any questions!

    Regards,

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.