How to remove myself from a shared folder (added when group was invited)

Answered
New post

Comments

9 comments

  • whatfor

    I'm interested in an answer to this as well. Access/Ownership rights to more than a couple folders have become confused due to inadvertent administration errors. I recently became owner of a folder that's beyond my scope of work and would like to simply re-assign ownership to someone else. An administrator inadvertently moved the folder inside one I co-own, and I thought I'd be helpful and move it back to All Files. That move wiped out all prior access rights. My far less preferred work-around would be to have that someone else create a new folder, copy sub-folders and files to the new folder, then delete the one I became owner of.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • justinmasuga

    As far as I can see I cannot remove myself from a group short of requesting to be removed by the person that made the group. I also cannot move the folder associated with the group as I am not the owner. I was going to at least consolidate these shared group folders into one folder to declutter my screen, but that too is not an option, yet! Please at least let me move the shared folders.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • jtomei

    I believe the "Remove Folder" option will remove you as a collaborator but leave the folder and other members as-is. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • PrairieGirl

    You can remove yourself from the shared folder.

    • Highlight the folder you want to be removed from
    • "Sharing" and "Details" appear to the right of my folders. Choose "Sharing"
    • Scroll down to your name & click on the " . . ." that follows your name.
    • Select "Remove"
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • KurtBaker

    And to change ownership (if you are currently the owner), follow Prairie Girl's instructions (first two bullets), then

    • scroll to the name of the person you'd like to make owner & click the "..." following their name
    • Select "Owner"
    • You'll get a "are you sure" warning...and if you are, click "Okay"

     

    --Kurt Baker

    Penn State University

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • hrallen

    Click on the folder. Once you get into the folder you will see a list of SHARING AND DETAILS with a list of user names.

    Find your name. Click the 3 dots next to your name. You will have the option to REMOVE yourself.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Bijoy

     wrote:

    You can remove yourself from the shared folder.

    • Highlight the folder you want to be removed from
    • "Sharing" and "Details" appear to the right of my folders. Choose "Sharing"
    • Scroll down to your name & click on the " . . ." that follows your name.
    • Select "Remove"


    Works only when you are added as an individual. If you are part of a group and the group was added, you cannot excuse yourself from that folder. The group needs to be removed by the owner. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Kim Powell

    Will anyone be notified that I have removed myself from collaborating on a shared file? 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • France

    Hi Kim, 

    Welcome to the Box Community, I'm happy to help!

    Removing yourself as a collaborator on a shared content will not trigger a notification to anyone that is also collaborating in that content. You will no longer have access to the item and will no longer be able to see it on your Box account should you decide to proceed.

    To learn more, please take a look at this article: https://support.box.com/hc/en-us/articles/360044196273-Managing-Collaborators#removecollab

    Thanks for reaching out and let us know how else we can help!

    Regards, 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.