Since our last announcement, we've heard a ton of feedback from our customers regarding these permission updates, both directly and indirectly from our go-to-market teams.
Your feedback has definitely been heard and we will not be moving forward with this change. In the meantime, we'll be doing additional customer validation to determine whether it makes sense to take another approach where granular controls over vanity url permissions can be placed in the hands of our customers. If we do plan to roll anything out, we will be making a separate product announcement.
Thanks everyone on this thread for taking the time to voice your concerns, we take customer feedback to heart here at Box and definitely appreciate it!
Starting later in May 2019, vanity links or custom URLs within the link settings page will no longer be available for non-owners of folders.
Here, anyone that does not have an owner or co-owner collaborator role will no longer be able to configure a vanity URL for a folder in which they are collaborating in. Existing vanity URLs will not be affected and will still be able to be copied from the sharing experience, though non-owners will no longer be able to see the subsection within link settings. Those with the prior permissions will still be able to disable a custom or vanity URL by toggling off the shared link.
Updated on April 29, 2019 to reflect the date change of vanity/custom URL changes.