We have received highly positive feedback on Box Sign since the global rollout to all our customers. During this time, Box Sign has been disabled for users by default for customers with an Admin Console, and Box admins have had to customize settings in their Admin Console before their users could choose to send signature requests.
We are excited to make it easier for our customers to enjoy all the benefits of Box Sign. So, we are planning to update the default Admin Console settings to have Box Sign enabled for users by default. The new default setting will allow your users to benefit from sending e-signature requests natively in Box. This change will ONLY impact your organization if you have never modified the default Admin Console settings for Box Sign. We’re also giving you an easy way in the Admin Console to preserve the current setting of having Box Sign disabled for all your users. More on this below.
This change to the default Box Sign Admin Console settings is being implemented in waves from November 2022 through February 2023, with each impacted customer falling into a specific wave. For each wave, we will have a specific day on which the default setting for customers in that wave will change to have Box Sign enabled for all their users. This date is referred to as the ‘flip date’. Detailed information about each wave and the associated flip date is being communicated to Box admins via email and in-product notifications, with the first communication at least 8 weeks prior to the flip date for that wave.
If, by the flip date, you have not yet modified your default Box Sign Admin Console settings, and have not taken action to preserve the current settings, you will be impacted by this change. If you would prefer not to be impacted by the change, please read on for actions you can take.
- Enable Box Sign for Only Certain Users: Try out Box Sign today or pilot it with a team that could benefit from e-signatures. It’s easy to get started by enabling Box Sign for individuals or for specific Box user groups. Please refer to Configuring Box Sign Enablement Settings for more information. If you enable Box Sign for any user(s) before your flip date, your settings won’t be impacted on the flip date.
- Preserve Your Disabled Box Sign Configuration: Starting October 11, 2022, an opt-out button was made available in the ‘Box Sign’ tab of the ‘Enterprise Settings’ section of your Box Admin Console. Note that this button only appears if you have not yet modified your default Box Sign Admin Console settings. Clicking this button will preserve your disabled Box Sign configuration so that it continues to be disabled for all your users. This will also ensure that your organization is not impacted by the change to default settings happening on your flip date. You will still be able to revise this setting later if you decide to revisit your use of Box Sign.
Note that you will be able to disable Box Sign for your users in your Admin Console anytime after your flip date as well.
If you have any questions or concerns about this change, please reach out to your account team or Box Support, and we’re happy to help. Meanwhile, here are some resources to learn more about Box Sign: