User settings define default settings for new managed users as well as configure several other user options. This topic contains the following sections:
- Expire Join Invites
- New User Default Settings
- Configure Single Sign On (SSO) for All Users
- Promote Usage of Box Applications
- Diagnostic Settings
Expire Join Invites
This setting defines expiration dates for invotes.
- Invites to join expire after
Defines an organization-wide time period after which invitations to join the organization expire. In general, a shorter duration improves security. Select from:
- 1 year (default)
- 6 months
- 1 month
- 7 days
- 72 hours
- 24 hours
If this setting is changed, the change applies to all invites that have not been accepted. If someone has received multiple invites, they all are subject to the value in this setting.
New User Default Settings
These settings define how new managed user accounts are configured. Changes to these settings do not get applied to existing managed user accounts.
- Enable Box Sync
- Enables users to synchronize files between Box and their computer hard drive via Box Sync.
- Shared contacts
- Allows users to access all other managed users in their contacts list when inviting collaborators. External users will not be accessible unless already collaborating. If you clear this setting, users will access only the people they are actively collaborating with and will need to manually fill the contacts list.
- Device pinning
- Enables users to be exempt from the maximum number of devices synchronized with their Box account value set for your enterprise in Enterprise Settings > App Use Management.
- Restrict external collaboration
Restricts users from creating external collaborations for folders they own.
- Storage allocation (GB)
Defines the total amount of storage, in gigabytes (GB), users are allocated in your Box organization. Enter a number or select the Unlimited check box.
"Unlimited" is defined as up to the amount your enterprise subscription level contains.
- Time Zone
Defines the time zone of where the user is located. Used to determine the correct date and time for user activities.
The user can also change the value of this setting on their own Account Settings page.
- Defines the language the user will see in the Box user interface when signed in.
Configure Single Sign On (SSO) for All Users
This setting determines whether you have single sign-on (SSO) configured for your users, and if so, determines how it is configured. See Setting Up Single Sign-On (SSO) for Your Enterprise for details.
Promote Usage of Box Applications
These settings determine if information is offered to users about different Box applications.
- Mobile Promotion
- Information is shown about how to download Box mobile applications.
- Box Notes Promotion
- Information is shown about benefits of Box Notes.
- Collections Promotion
- Information is shown about benefits of Collections.
This setting determines if users can grant (limited) access for Box Support for troubleshooting. Granting access for Box Support is available for Business plans and above.