You receive a "Confirm Deletion" prompt when
- you delete a folder you own from your Box Sync folder that has collaborators in the folder, or
- you are a non-owner collaborator, and you try to delete a sub-folder.
You can optionally check the Always delete check box if you always want Box Sync to delete the folder on your Box account. You will no longer see this pop-up for any future deletions of folders that you own that contains collaborators.
Scenarios where you will not receive a "Confirm Deletion" prompt:
When deleting content from your local Box Sync folder,
- you will not get this prompt if you delete a folder you own that has no collaborators. The folder will be deleted from your Box account.
- you will not get this prompt if you delete individual files. The file will be deleted from your Box account.
- you will not get this prompt if you delete a folder that is owned by another user. The folder will be unsynced for you.
- Moving a folder from your Box Sync folder to anywhere outside of your Box Sync folder is equivalent to the folder being directly deleted from your Box Sync folder.
- If a folder is partially synced, additional items not visible on your computer may also be permanently deleted from Box. Deleting parent folders locally from your Box Sync folder could cause subfolders that you haven't synced to be deleted inadvertently. You can always recover deleted items from the Trash page.
Deleting vs Unsyncing
When you delete a collaborated folder, that folder is permanently deleted from every collaborator's account.
When you unsync a collaborated folder, you are only removing it from your computer ﹣ it remains in the parent folder and all other collaborators continue to have access to that folder. This action must be taken from the Box web application.