Editable file sharing links are shared links that grant editing permissions to files stored in Box for people with those links. Your managed users will be able to select the edit option in the sharing modal for a file within Box if you include edit in the maximum permission allowed.
For your managed users, if you enable editable shared links and once your enterprise has the capability unlocked, they will have a new Can Edit option that they can select when generating a shared link.
When someone clicks a file sharing link with edit permissions, then:
- If they are logged into Box, they will be able to click on the shared link and edit the document; this allows us to keep track of who's editing what content.
- If they are anonymous users, they:
- will be required to log into Box to edit the content
- will be able to view and download the content only without logging into Box
File sharing links with edit permissions will work for Google Workspace, Office Online, Desktop apps for Office, and other Box Tools supported files except iWork. Shared links with edit permissions will not work for 3rd-party apps or any non-editor web-app integrations (please note that some are developed by a third-party, and others are developed by Box).
This new feature is applicable specifically to file sharing in Box. Shared Box Notes already allow editing.
Editable Shared Links Availability
File sharing links with edit permissions will be a phased launch starting in April and continue through until June. Box has released an update to the Admin console so Admins and Co-Admins are able to view the changes prior to the capability going live.
Admin Next Steps
There are several steps that you as an Admin can take to prepare your organization and your managed users for this new feature.
- Configure your shared links settings. Instructions are in the Shared Links Settings for Your Enterprise topic. Shared link settings are in Admin Console > Enterprise Settings > Content and Sharing, and you can find more details about these settings in the Shared Links Section of the Enterprise Settings: Content & Sharing Tab.
- Your managed users will not be able to use edit permissions until after your enterprise has the capability unlocked and you specifically allow the option in these settings.
- If you set available permissions on files to View, download, and edit, permissions available to your users will still be View and download until the phased launch for users is complete.
- Until the phased launch for users is complete, the default permission for shared links will still be determined by shared link access level, not the default permission set here.
- Any changes made here for Box Notes are honored immediately for your organization.
- Inform your users that this capability is coming to your enterprise.
- Point your users to the Creating Shared Links and Configuring Individual Shared Link Settings topics, which will be updated with information on how to make shared links editable when the capability to edit shared links is released.