Legacy Web Experience
This article refers to the legacy user experience in our web application. If you are using the new and improved user experience, your All Files page will look like this:
If your All Files page resembles the image above, click the link below to navigate to the appropriate article for the new user experience:
"Someone" Downloaded My Files - What Does This Mean?
"Someone" is any user that downloads a file from a shared link while not logged into Box. You will receive these updates if you or one of your collaborators has enabled “Open Access” shared links to content you own or have access to.
"Someone" is also shown if the user is collaborating in a folder that has the "Hide Collaborators" option turned on.
A folder may show as having been updated by "Someone" if an upload via email upload occurred somewhere in the folder.
For added security reporting, Admins of Business and Enterprise accounts can track the IP addresses associated with each notification referencing "Someone" within the Admin Console.