What is the New UI?
The New UI is a new rich, yet simplified, experience that enables you to effortlessly organize, access and work with your most important content. With the all new Box, we are giving you the ability to cut through the noise and easily navigate to content with a clear, simple experience that is personalized to the way you prefer to work.
Are any features deprecated in this version of the UI?
No, we did not end-of-life (EOL) any features with this release. You have access to all of the features you are familiar working with in Box.
Did you add any new features I should learn to use?
Yes, we added a new organization feature called Collections. Collections enables you to create and name private groupings of content in your Box account, where you can organize files and folders that you own or share. Although the content may be shared, your collections are not shared and are visible only to you.
Using Box Collections you can:
- intuitively organize your Box content into logical groupings of your choice,
- name these groupings to provide clear and meaningful context, and
- quickly find the content you need right now. To learn more about Collections, refer to the Collections FAQ.
Did any features move location?
Yes, we did modify the location of a few key actions in Box:
- When you select a folder row in Box, the Share button was previously located on the right side of the app in the folder detail pane. The Share button is now a primary action in the top action bar.
- The ability to add an item to Favorites moved out of the top left breadcrumb to the top right of the action bar. You can now add an item to Favorites or My Collections.
- All action buttons in the action bar have been optimized for display based on top actions you take in Box. Any action you no longer see is still accessible in the top action bar. To see the full list of actions, click the ellipsis button "...".
Are updates made to viewing an externally owned and shared folder?
Viewing externally shared folders works similarly to the previous instance of Box in that it reflects the look and feel of the company that owns the folder you are viewing. In the New UI, when you are logged into Box and are viewing your working instance of Box, you will see a default theme and logo, or a custom theme and logo your company has implemented. If you view an externally owned folder you have been collaborated into while logged in, the theme will change to reflect the default or custom theme applied by the company that owns the folder you are viewing. This means the left sidebar may change color and you may see a corporate logo for the company that owns the folder you are viewing.
Can a customer move back to the old UI if they do not like the new UI?
- Individual, Personal Pro, and Starter customers will have the new UI enabled starting July 27, 2020. This group of users do not have the option to move back to the old UI.
- Business, Business Plus, and Enterprise customers will have the ability to move back to the old UI in the optional GA period (July 27, 2020 - June 30, 2021). Admins for these customers can turn on and off the new UI for their users. One thing to note is that if a user sees the new UI/collections, and creates one or more collections, the user will no longer see those collections when they get switched back to the old UI. The data is still stored, so they will once again see those collections when they get switched back to the new UI thereafter.
Can my customer change the font color from white to black or vice versa in the custom branding mode?
No, we calculate the corresponding font color by following the accessibility guidelines listed by the WCAG 2.1 Level AA requirements, which says the contrast ratio needs to be at least 4.5:1. If this presents a problem to the customer, we've seen some customers choose a secondary color in their corporate brand palette as the left nav background color.
Will Collections be available on Drive?
Box is currently in the customer validation stage with this concept