While non-modifiable retention policies can only be retired, modifiable retention policies can be deleted. When a modifiable retention policy is deleted, the following happens to any files the policy applied to:
- Files in Trash: If any files are subject to any other retention policy, that policy is applied. Otherwise, your organizations Trash settings are applied to the files upon policy deletion.
- Files not in Trash: No effect. The files may be subject to other retention policies, in which case those policies apply when those files are deleted by users, otherwise, your organization's Trash settings are applied to the file upon deletion.
To delete a retention policy:
- Go to Admin Console > Governance.
- Click the Retention tab.
- Click the name of a modifiable retention policy.
- Click More Options ( ), and then click Delete Policy.
- In the Delete Policy confirmation dialog box, click Delete.