The Custom Terms of Service feature can be enabled in your Business Plus, and higher, Box account to require that all collaborators view and agree to a terms of service document before accessing your company’s Box content. This feature is available via both the UI and API.
Please reach out to your Customer Success Manager if you would like this setting to be enabled for your account. Once enabled for your organization, the Custom Terms of Service feature can be found in the Admin Console (Admin Console >Enterprise Settings > Custom Setup tab.)
First, select the types of users who require terms of service. Select from the following:
- No one
- External users only
- Managed users only
- Managed and external users
Next, enter the Custom Terms of Service you want users to view and comply with. Click Save in the top of the page.
Note Admins cannot use the instant login feature to accepts terms of service on behalf of an account holder; the account holder must log into box.com to do this. However, if you need that functionality, Box provides an API endpoint.
Custom Terms of Service has limited HTML support. We only support tags: links <a href> and <a>, bold <b>, line breaks <br>, italic <em>, italic <i>, strong <strong>, span <span> and underline <u>.
The Box Mobile application does not allow account holders to accept custom terms of service, but account holders can accept custom terms of service by doing one of the following:
On a desktop:
- Open a web browser and log into his or her Box account.
- Access the folder with the custom terms of service.
- Accept the custom terms of service.
On a mobile device:
- Open a web browser.
- Type m.box.com and log in.
- In the Box window, click Notifications.
- In the Terms of Service window, click Agree and Accept.
After accepting the terms of service on either the desktop or mobile web browser, account holders can access their content through the Box Mobile application.
The User Experience:
Once you’ve created your Terms of Service, the next time a managed user logs in to Box, they will have to Accept the terms of service to proceed to their account.
Users are asked to re-accept the terms of service if you turn off the feature, save, and turn it back on again.
Users will also be asked to re-accept the Terms of Service if you only change the Terms of Service text.
Once you’ve created your Terms of Service, existing external users will have their collaboration change to Pending and temporarily lose collaboration access to the content. The next time an external user logs in to Box, they will have to Accept the terms of service to regain collaboration access to the content.
- After accepting the Terms of Service, external users will have their prior collaboration level restored. If any external collaborators do not accept the Terms of Service within 30 days, they will be removed as a collaborator from the content.
Users are asked to re-accept the terms of service if you turn off the feature, save, and turn it back on again. Users are blocked from collaborating until they have re-accepted the terms of service.
Users are not asked to re-accept if you only change the Terms of Service text.
Note When Terms of Service are enabled for external users, but then disabled prior to all existing external users accepting the Terms of Service, any existing external users that were unable to accept the Terms of Service will be stuck as Pending and removed after 30 days.
Note User Activity Report will show when an external user is removed from collaborations because they did not accept ToS in 30 days or because they rejected the ToS. The "Removed collab" action will indicate the user was removed by a backend service. The report will also show what content the user was removed from, which can help reinstate the collaborations.