If you need to recover someone who's been deleted -- for example, someone has been deleted from your enterprise by accident -- please open a ticket with our Box Product Support team. Include the following information from the main admin account, or from the account of the co-admin who performed the deletion:
- Name of the user
- Email of the user
- Date they were deleted
When we receive this information, we can recover the account in question.
- People who've been deleted lose all existing collaboration permissions (for security purposes), and recovering their account does not restore these permissions. Deletions remove the person from the associated folders and they must be added back explicitly into the folders to have access to the content. Admins with reporting capabilities can run a report to determine to which folders the deleted person must be added back, plus what that person's previous permission level was prior to the deletion. To do this, run a report for "remove collaborator" for the date of the particular deletion and then export the report.
- If someone is deleted with owned content, and the content was not transferred, all collaborations for that folder are severed. In this case, when you restore someone you must also add people back to the folder. Also, there is a 14-day grace period when content is deleted from someone's account. During this grace period Box Product Support can recover your content. After the grace period ends, however, we cannot guarantee that the files or folders are recoverable. To preserve the collaborations, transfer the folder before you delete it.