This feature is available for Enterprise and Elite users only. For more information about pricing plans, or to upgrade, visit app.box.com/pricing/. Contact your Box Customer Success Manager or Box User Services to turn on this feature.
Box Automations transitions to Box Relay Lite.
Box released a re-architected and significantly enhanced Box Relay in June, 2019. A free, limited-functionality version called Relay Lite is available for all Business Plus customers.
We will be migrating existing Automations customers to Relay Lite automatically, including all their Automations data. Before the end of 2021 we will announce a migration plan and give Automations customers advance notice to plan for this change. There will be no charge for this. But we encourage you to consider upgrading to the new Relay, which is more powerful and includes a much larger range of trigger and output events, including files, folders, tasks, metadata, and more.
For more on this transition, plus details on Relay Lite, please refer to the Relay Lite Overview page in the Box Community.
To create a new automated process on Box, follow these steps:
- In the Admin Console, in the lefthand navigation, click Content.
- When the Content Manager displays, click the Automation tab.
- Click Add New Automation.
- Enter a name for your automated process in the Automation name field
- Enter one of the triggering events for your Automation in the If this happens section. Each event is applied to the folder selected in the In this folder field. The triggering events a to assign a task are:
- File Uploaded: Triggers an event when a file is uploaded.
- File Moved: Triggers an event when a file is moved.
- File Copied when a file is copied.
- Task Completed: Triggers an event when a task is completed
Note: When the triggering event from the If this happens section occurs, you can set an automation that can perform one of 2 tasks:
- Assign a task: to the individual(s) you specify in the To this person field.
- Move File: to the folder you specify in the To field.
A notification will appear in the folder where Automations are enabled, detailing the event that triggers the Automation as well as the subsequent event. Click Show details in the right-hand corner of the notification to view the Automation events or Hide details to collapse the notification. Notifications will not appear in the destination folder for files that have been moved as a result of an Automation (only in the folder where the Automation originated).
- Avoid cyclic dependency when adding automation tasks. For example, if you add the following automations:
- Moved a file to Folder A and then moved it to Folder B and
- Moved a file to Folder B and then moved it to Folder A
- If a file is moved to Folder A (or Folder B), this will result in a cyclic move.
- Box prevents de-duplication (repeating the same tasks within a given time period). If you get into this situation, the process stops after the last action that was not already performed. In this case, the move to Folder B is the last action (as moving it back to Folder A is an action that was already performed).
Please note the following visibility permissions apply to the Automation notification:
- If you are collaborating in the folder where an Automation originates, you'll see the notification that an automated process is applied to files in the folder.
- If you are not collaborating in the destination folder in a given Automation,youwon't see the destination folder's name in the details -- that is, it will be hidden.
- If you are accessing the folder where an Automation originates anonymously via a shared link (that is, you're not logged in to Box or not part of the organization), you won't see any Automation notification at all.
- If you don't have permission to view the collaborators in a folder (that is, collaborators are hidden or you a member of the organization but not collaborating in the folder), you'll see the notification but not the person to whom tasks are assigned.
- If you're not collaborating in the folder where an Automation originates, but are collaborating in the destination folder, you'll see the destination folder name in the Automation notification (if the notification is exposed to you).
- Visibility permissions correspond to the collaborator permissions and cascade from parent folder to any corresponding child folders.
Please use the following chart to reference the visibility associated with Automation notifications at a glance:
|Automation Notification||Origin Folder||Destination Folder||Task Assignee|
Both origin and destination folders
Other Collaborators hidden
Not collaborating in folder
Collaborating in both folders
Collaborating in origin folder only
Collaborator in Destination Folder OnlyNot origin folder
Collaborator in Origin Folder Only
Not destination folder
Using a shared link